23 Things – 5/23 Reflective Practice

Things 5 is about Reflective Practice.

When I was a teacher, reflective practice was an integral part of my every day work.  I had to write lesson evaluations – reflecting on what had gone well, what hadn’t worked and why and what I was going to do next.  This was essentially Burton’s (1970) model of  ‘What?, So What? , What Now?’.  It was a useful system because it was brief and helpful in recognising positives and improving on areas that were not as successful.

I found ‘Thoughts on Learning Processes and Other Musing‘ a very useful refresher on reflective practice ideas.  I’ve been encouraged by my manager to have a reflective approach to work as a trainee and although I have written some blog posts reflecting on my experiences, a lot of my reflection has been either ‘in-action’  or a more mental reflection.  I think this is because I’d somehow grown a misconception that reflective writing had to be epic in length.  This ‘thing’ has reminded me that, actually, it can be as brief as you like, just so long as it’s pro-active and useful in developing your understanding of the experience and beneficial to practice.

One thing I think is important to add to this is that when thinking about applying what you have learned, using   SMART targets or aims will help make sure your new goals are achievable.

Out of the models examined in the above blog, I found the inclusion of  emotional responses in ‘Gibbs’ model interesting as  it’s not something I’ve seen before but an emotional or intuitive reflection is just as important, in my opinion, as a logical one.

With that in mind, I’ve mashed together a couple of the suggested models and decided on a simple reflective framework to start putting into practice.

  1. What have you done? [training, a project, an everyday task]
  2. Why did you do it? [What was the purpose?]
  3. How did it make you feel?
  4. What did you learn from it?
  5. What will you do next?[Action Plan]

Starting as I mean to go on, here is a brief reflection on the CPD23 process so far:

I joined the CPD23 on-line course in order to increase my current awareness of key library topics, meet some other librarians and learn more about some of the most useful on-line tools.  So far the experience has been extremely positive and although it’s quite time consuming, taking part has been informative and interesting.

I’ve learned a lot of great tips for use with a range of tools including RSS feeds, Storify and Twitter; I’m more aware of the importance of ‘brand’ but I’m not overly anxious about it; I’m more confident blogging and commenting and I’ve read some great blogs by other participants that have made me think and re-evaluate my own opinions or practice.

Action Plan:

  • I hope to continue the learning process by completing the 23Things course on time
  • I’m aiming to become more active on Twitter.  As a first step I’d like to take part in /follow the next uklibchat event.
  • I’m going to continue to use this reflective model after training sessions and projects to ensure I’m getting the most out my experiences
, , ,

  1. #1 by Lizzie Atkinson on 11/06/2012 - 6:17 pm

    Thanks for the link to ‘Thoughts on learning processes and other musings’. I found the idea about critical incidents particularly interesting. It’s made me realise how spending a bit of time reflecting on little things as well as big things might be important.

  2. #2 by Louise Cowan on 19/08/2012 - 7:53 pm

    You’re welcome :)
    That’s a good point about reflection – sometimes, the little things can give the biggest ideas!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

