23 Things – 2/23

For ‘Thing 2’ the task was to investigate other blogs and get to know some other CPD23-ers.

Have to say I love some of the creative blog names out there! I know how hard it is to think of one, so here are a few that made me smile: Cup of Tea & a Scone , That Password is Incorrect , PopupLibrarian , and Digressions of a Sponge for Knowledge .  Their blogs are fun to read too!

Having read a number of blogs now I’m starting to feel like part of a  community – it’s been great to see the supportive comments others have left on blogs too!  I’ve also found it interesting to see the variety of librarians taking part and look forward to seeing the 23 Things from their perspective.

I have to admit I found taking the first step into commenting quite daunting but once I got started it was a lot easier (though posting comments on Blogger takes some effort – having to prove I’m human and all! :p) A lot of us taking part seem to find networking and putting ourselves out there quite challenging but I think the fact we’re all trying, proves we’re up to it 🙂

, ,

  1. #1 by Nic on 16/05/2012 - 12:43 pm

    Hey – I stumbled on your blog though Thing 2 and noticing your comments – not a massive ‘fan’ of networking’ and was apprehensive to leave a comment… but I bit the bullet and am proving I’m human too! Love the pictures on book repairs.

    • #2 by Louise Cowan on 16/05/2012 - 6:47 pm

      Hello! It’s good to know that we now both have proof that we’re human 🙂 It’s also nice to have proof that someone’s reading my rambles – so thank you for commenting too!

      Glad you liked the book repair pictures, was tricky trying to repair a book and photograph it at the same time 🙂 Worth it though, I think!

  2. #3 by Lizzie Atkinson on 16/05/2012 - 1:14 pm

    I’m looking into thing 3 and it’s interesting to see how many people have mentioned interesting blog titles in thing 2. Suggests that finding a good one is important. It’s certainly something that gets me interested in reading a blog in the first place when there are so many to choose from.

    • #4 by Louise Cowan on 16/05/2012 - 6:59 pm

      Hey Lizzie! That is an interesting point and definitely one to keep in mind when thinking about a brand – it was the names of the blogs that drew me in too. I guess something unique helps it to stand out more, even if other blogs are just as interesting once you get into them!

  3. #5 by libraryem on 16/05/2012 - 9:53 pm

    Hi Louise! There are so many blogs out there that I’ve found myself going by interesting blog names as well – I had a blog name blank when I came to think of mine. It is lovely to get comments on your blog too – am looking forward to reading yours in future!

    • #6 by Louise Cowan on 22/05/2012 - 8:12 pm

      Hi Emily! Nice to see there’s a couple of us cpd-ing 🙂

      Despite the blog name blank I think you came up with a great blog name – anything involving alliteration and tea = win! 🙂

  4. #7 by searchingtheshelves on 18/05/2012 - 8:10 pm

    I definitely find myself drawn to interesting blog names too! And I agree, it’s great to feel like part of a community. I’m finding I’m already looking forward to future networking possibilities.

    • #8 by Louise Cowan on 22/05/2012 - 8:13 pm

      Me too – I was a little bit worried about the networking side of the profession but getting to know people via CPD23 is actually quite fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

