23 Things – 12/23 Putting the Social into Social Media

Just how social am I?

The simple answer: not very!

It’s not that I don’t want to be more involved and interactive in social media, I just find it quite challenging for two main reasons:

Time – keeping up to date with twitter, blogs, blog comments and forums all takes time.  Participation in social media for me is a bit of a time management issue…not because I don’t have some spare time to hand occasionally but because of point number two…

Image: ‘Time Spiral’ Found on flickrcc.net

Confidence – most of the time, I don’t feel as though I have anything interesting to add…or I realise I might have had something to say but only when it’s too late! It also tends to take me forever to actually write anything (see point about time) because I spend so long trying to make sure it’s suitable/useful/sensible/perfect before I send it out there.

The confidence issue partly comes down to the fact I’m just starting out in the profession and still have a lot to learn – once I become more sure of my footing I’m sure I’ll have more to say.  For now I’m happy to sit back and take it all in – jumping in on the odd occasion when I feel I can… and CPD23 has most definitely helped to increase the number of times I’ve taken the leap recently…

Speaking of which

I did take part in a UKLibchat discussion on Twitter!  The chat was based on Library Spaces and Space management and since my Trainee Project was based around the topic questions, I decided to join in!  It was an interesting discussion with participants from a wide range of sectors and some fun ideas were shared too.  If it were something I did more regularly, I’m sure I’d get to know the other participants more too – so that’s something to aim for in the future.

Time for a Plan of Action!

  • Set aside a specific time each week to read blogs I follow and comment on at least two of them [by the end of the week]
  • Look for a blog from a different sector to follow [by the end of the week]
  • Take part in another UKLibChat [by the end of the month]
  • Choose a Library forum to become active in [by the end of September]
, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by adriennecooper on 16/08/2012 - 9:12 am

    Hello Louise!
    Sounds like a great action plan. Glad you found #uklibchat useful in building your online network. Stay brave, and keep leaping! 😀

    • #2 by Louise Cowan on 19/08/2012 - 7:35 pm

      Thanks Adrienne! 🙂

      #uklibchat is a great social tool – loved the prezi about it on the #uklibchat blog 🙂 Congrats on its 1st Birthday earlier in July too!

Leave a Reply

