23 Things – 19/23 Integration

23 Things has been quite a speedy drive through a lot of useful information and tools so far and when I arrived at Thing 19, I was a bit disheartened as I didn’t feel as though I’d managed to integrate much of anything yet.  However, on closer inspection, I realised that I have started to make little inroads in some areas…

Social Media Tools:

  • RSS

The tool I’ve found most useful here is definitely RSS feeds.  I’d always been aware of them on the periphery but never really known how to use them effectively.  23 Things not only explained to me what they were but helped me create an organised list that was easy to manage and follow.  It’s much simpler to keep up with current news or interesting posts by having them all in one place.

  • Twitter / Blogs

23 Things has also boosted my twitter / blog use as I now follow a great range of cpd23ers, from different sectors and parts of the country, who have interesting views and some great ideas to share.

 

Productivity Tools:

  • Mendeley

I’ve only just started using Mendeley for my course at UWE and have found it very useful for organising information and keeping track of the articles and books I’m reading.  I hope that my new understanding of Mendeley will also come in useful if any readers at St Hugh’s need advice on referencing tools in the future.

  • Google Drive

Although I’ve not have the opportunity to use Google Drive yet, it really impressed me with its range of features and sharing capabilities and I’m glad to know it’s there if I ever need it for a project in the future.

 

Professional Development:

  • Reflective practice

Reflecting on different aspects of this programme has helped me to become more reflective in work.  It’s still an area I need to develop but having my Thing 5 blog post and the reflective framework I developed there makes the process a lot easier.

 

There are still a number of ‘things’ from the programme that I should have integrated into my timetable that I haven’t quite managed yet – online networking being one of the main ones!  Finding the time to get started is still the main issue but I am determined to get there eventually!

There are also a number of great tools that I’d love to integrate into my work but don’t currently have the opportunity – for example using Wikis or Prezi or Jing on an actual library project.  However, one of the great things about 23 Things is that, even if I don’t have a practical use for the tools or am unable to currently make the most of the information shared, I am more aware of what is out there and when the time is right, I’ll be more prepared and ready to move forward from a strong staring point.

, , ,

  1. 23 Things – 23/23 What Next? « peripheraldevice

Leave a Reply

